What is gluten?

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein that is found in certain cereals, and these are just those cereals traditionally most represented in the diet: wheat, barley, rye, oats. Gluten-free cereals are corn, rice, buckwheat, millet, syrup.

Who should turn off the gluten from the diet?

These are people suffering from celiac disease (gluten enteropathy), gluten-intolerant and gluten-sensitive individuals. Often, gluten-free diet is recommended to people with autism as part of therapy. Celiac disease is a disease that requires the absolute exclusion of gluten from the diet, because this protein so much damage the wall of the bowel that virtually does not absorb vitamins, minerals and other nutrients, so the person is in danger of numerous malnutrition, defects and other health disorders. Symptoms of gluten intolerance occur shortly after consuming foods containing this protein, which are cramps, gases, flatulence, diarrhea. Problems felt by gluten-sensitive people are milder, but generally uncomfortable enough to make people feel better if they choose a gluten-free meal.

In which foods is gluten is a hidden ingredient?

Unfortunately, people who have to exclude gluten from the diet are faced with a major problem. Even very small amounts of gluten can cause very serious health problems (eg maize corn on the same mill where pre-milled wheat is no longer suitable for eating gluten-sensitive individuals). And wheat is surprisingly present in many products where you would not expect it – in sausage products, chocolate, ice cream, soy sauce, ketchup, spices, teas, kajmak, young cheese, acidic products …

People who need to consume gluten-free foods have to prepare their own food themselves in order to be completely sure that their food will not contain this ingredient due to negligence (or ignorance).
The big move is the opening of the first restaurant that offers safe food for this sensitive category of people.